About the University of Split


The University of Split (UNIST) was founded in 1974. It is the second largest university in Croatia, with over 24,000 students enrolled in its undergraduate, master's, integrated master's and doctoral degree. The University also offers study programmes in English.

As the predominant public research and teaching institution in the region, the University of Split has expanded over the past 40 years to include eleven faculties (among which is the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences), one fine arts academy, and four university departments.

Research carried out at the University focuses on scientific disciplines characterized by natural, cultural, historical, social, economic and other features of the Croatian Adriatic region and the Mediterranean as a whole. This involves the research and protection of art and architectural heritage, philology, the humanities, the social sciences, field crops, oceanography and fishing, Adriatic botany and zoology, island and coastal economy, Adriatic tourism, maritime law, nautical sciences, and naval architecture, in addition to chemical engineering, civil engineering, architecture, electrical and mechanical engineering, kinesiology, health sciences, and forensics – all of which distinguish the University of Split,
not only in Croatia but also beyond its borders.

The University of Split has a well-established network of global partners. It is currently a member of the European University Association (EUA), the Unione delle Università del Mediterraneo (UNIMED), the Danube Rector’s Conference and the Inter University Centre Dubrovnik.